May 7, 2013

Sound Physicians Presents 2013 Summit Award to Chief Hospitalist Rana Tan, MD

Harrison Medical Center’s Chief Hospitalist, Rana Tan, MD, Earns Honor at National Leadership Conference

Tacoma, Wash. – May 7, 2013 – Sound Physicians, a leading hospitalist organization focused on driving improvements in quality, satisfaction and financial performance of inpatient healthcare delivery, announced that Rana Tan, MD, Chief Hospitalist at Harrison Medical Center in Bremerton, Wash., is the recipient of Sound Physicians’ 2013 Summit Award, which honors hospitalists who display exemplary performance of Sound Physicians’ organizational values.

Trained as an intensivist, Dr. Tan has been a Sound Physicians hospitalist since 2005. In 2010, she was named Chief Hospitalist at Harrison Medical Center, one of Sound Physicians 70+ hospital partners. Since then, Dr. Tan has led the 16-member hospitalist team in improving core measures compliance, dramatically raising HCAHPS scores for inpatients, and collaborating with other specialties.

In 2012, Harrison Medical Center credited Dr. Tan with the “Buck Stops Here” award for her can-do attitude, instrumental assistance in fine-tuning the inpatient EMR system, and enhanced communication with community-based physicians and hospital colleagues.

“Dr. Tan has single-handedly been responsible for the on-the-ground, frontline leadership transformation of the Harrison Medical Center program,” said Juhie Parnami, Sound Physicians’ Northwest regional vice president. “With an ‘action plan’ in place to improve relationships, engagement, core measures and patient satisfaction, Dr. Tan tackled each area with rigor and laser focus. We credit a tremendous amount to Dr. Tan and feel she deserves the Sound Physicians Summit Award.”

The Sound Physicians National Leadership Conference is an annual event, bringing together Sound Physicians’ Chief Hospitalists and Hospitalist RNs for a two-day intensive leadership development program. Sound Physicians has been providing its annual Summit Award at the National Leadership Conference since 2012. Past winners include Matthew Harbison, MD, medical director of the Sound Physicians team at Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center.

Subscribe to the Sound Physicians Blog

A trusted source for today's healthcare needs.